The 1975, The O2 Arena

On the 15th and 16th of December, I travelled to see The 1975 perform their London shows of the final I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It UK tour dates. The boys have been one of my favourite bands for a couple of years now, so by the time December had come around, I was so excited to be able to finally see them. And what an incredible couple of nights it was.

For the first show, I went to the show alone; while to some this may seem daunting, being surrounded by so many but people completely alone, I enjoyed it; watching people at their happiest always makes me happy too.

When Matty Healy, George Daniel, Ross MacDonald and Adam Hann, along with their touring members, walked on stage after the rectangle glowed, it was like London had been hit by a storm; the amount of energy they supply is unbelievable. Their setlist was amazing as usual, including Undo, Milk, fallingforyou and so many other unexpected additions.

Love me

UGH!

Heart Out

M.O.N.E.Y

Milk

She’s American

Please Be Naked

Somebody Else

If I Believe You

The second night was the first O2 show that the band sold out, which is why, for me, it was the most special show of the two. During fallingforyou, Matty tells everyone to put their phones away, because he believes the memory of being there is better than a video on your phone. And he is totally right; it was a truly magical moment, and to top it off a man proposed to his girlfriend which made it even more special! When they played Loving Someone, they displayed the LGBT lights, and everybody erupted when the song began; I’ve truly never seen anything like it.

A Change of Heart

I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it

Undo

Loving Someone


Please Be Naked (the lighting was far to beautiful to only show one picture!!)

Lostmyhead

Somebody Else (again, far too beautiful for only one picture)

Medicine

//
These two nights were two of the best gigs I’ve ever been to, and I can’t wait to see what’s next for them.

Featured photo by Tony Woolliscroft, all other photos by me.

Leave a Reply

