Green Day Revolution Radio Tour Leeds

Seeing as Green Day just finished playing their most recent leg of their Revolution Radio Tour, I thought it’d be nice to reflect on the Europe leg, considering I haven’t posted in a while.

Seeing Green Day had been on my bucket list since they released 2009 hit single ‘Know Your Enemy’ so I was so thrilled to finally be seeing them. So thrilled, that I decided, along with my superfan cousin and dad, to get to the arena at 8am to make sure I got a great position (we had standing tickets and I’m small). I know this may seem very over the top but others had been camping out for a couple of days (quite unnecessary, needless to say) so we definitely weren’t the only ones with high hopes of getting a spot on the barrier.

When it came to the doors being opened, I’m not exaggerating when I say it was one of the most stressful situations I’ve found myself in and without a doubt the most difficulty I’ve had getting into the venue. Nevertheless, my family and I managed to be on the barrier, just to the left.


Photo by Matthew Levin

Yep, that’s me, a small blob just above the barrier, thankfully with my hands pretty much over my face (waiting in the cold for 11 hours didn’t do my looks justice that day). The support act, The Interrupters, despite their sound troubles, were unexpectedly good, filling the stage with their energy.

Green Day came on at the early time of 8pm; if they came on any later they wouldn’t be done until the early hours of the morning! (Okay, maybe a slight exaggeration, but a 2 and a half hour setlist is pretty incredible, right?) They burst onto the stage with ‘Know Your Enemy,’ followed by Revolution Radio songs ‘Bang Bang’ and ‘Revolution Radio’. The arena completely lit up during ‘Boulevard of Broken Dreams’, and crowd went absolutely wild for ‘Minority’ (many bruises followed.) The trio of course finished with Good Riddance and the red and white confetti sprayed everywhere in the standing area.


All photos above taken by me, iPhone 6.

Leave a Reply

